Costumes Nationaux

Serious sewing really began for me when I was 15… My Mother taught me most things as I watched her sew… I loved watching her sew.  But then came The Ellen Terry Theatre in Smallhythe, Kent. I spent most of my teenage happy summer days as a costume assistant, sewing costumes for the productions there. Cutting my teeth on almost every era from medieval peasants and Tudor corsets to jeweled golden lame bikinis … My love of costume, sewing and clothing history began there. I have a huge collection of inspiration. I collect … (some might say hoard) anything haberdasher and here at the studio is a collection of books I’m quite proud of… so I’m going to share some gems. This time, Costume Nationaux. A French book made up of twenty of the most beautiful lithographic prints illustrated by E. Lepage-Medvey .. exploring national costume in Austria, Hungary, Poland and Czechoslovakia. Printed in 1939. The images speak for themselves, so vivid in colour and such an expressive culture .. enjoy.

Jeune Fille de Haute-Silesie, Pologne (Young Woman from Silesie Poland)
Jeune Fille de Haute-Silesie, Pologne (Young Woman from Silesie Poland)
Costume Porte dans les Environs De Uhersky Brod, Solvaquie  (Door Costume from the Uhersky Brod region in Solvakia)
Costume Porte dans les Environs De Uhersky Brod, Solvaquie
(Door Costume from the Uhersky Brod region in Solvakia)
Costume from Kyjova, Czechoslovakia
Costume from Kyjova, Czechoslovakia
Costume de Jeune Femme de Vyskova Moravie (Costume of a young woman from Vyskova, Moravia)
Costume de Jeune Femme de Vyskova Moravie (Costume of a young woman from Vyskova, Moravia)
Peasant from Boldog, Hungary
Peasant from Boldog, Hungary
Woman from Kalotaszeg, Hungary
Woman from Kalotaszeg, Hungary
Jeune Paysan de Mezokovesd, Hongerie (Young Peasent from Mezokovesd, Hungary)
Jeune Paysan de Mezokovesd, Hongerie (Young Peasent from Mezokovesd, Hungary)
Berger du Bugac, Hongerie  (Shepard from Bugac, Hungary)
Berger du Bugac, Hongerie
(Shepard from Bugac, Hungary)
Gardien de Chevaux du Hortobagy, Hongrie  (Guardian of Horses Hortobagy, Hungary)
Gardien de Chevaux du Hortobagy, Hongrie
(Guardian of Horses Hortobagy, Hungary)
Chasseur de Alt-Aussee Styrie, Autriche  (Hunter Alt-Aussee Styria, Austria)
Chasseur de Alt-Aussee Styrie, Autriche
(Hunter Alt-Aussee Styria, Austria)
Costume de Femme du Waldviertel, Basse-Autriche (Woman from Waldviertel, Lower Austria)
Costume de Femme du Waldviertel, Basse-Autriche
(Woman from Waldviertel, Lower Austria)

 

Fin!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Costumes Nationaux

  1. I love this post, such beautiful illustrations! I sent you an email a few days ago asking if you have any spaces left on your sewing course this weekend, I’d really love to come so please let me know if yes! X

Leave a comment